Favorite Theatre moment


****DISCLAIMER: I had to write this for a certain internship that I only REALLY want, so I thought I would share it with you. I’ll let you know if it helps me get the job.

Growing up, I always dreamed of being in the spotlight.  First I wanted to be a ballerina, but I was too short. Then I wanted to be a singer, but I could never follow the music and always just made up my own notes instead. From there, it was only logical that I should pursue an acting career, until I realized that I could never handle the constant upkeep of a perfect appearance. So, I mulled over stand-up comedy as a last attempt to stardom, before realizing that none of the jokes I told were very funny.

It was then that I decided I was much better off behind the scenes rather than in them and found a passion in helping others find the spotlight.  During this journey of transferring from on stage to behind it, I happened upon my favorite theatre moment.

Two years ago the studio was putting on Alice in Wonderland as our end of the year production. I was teaching musical theatre and my youngest class, ages four to six, were Cheshire Kittens.  Every week we worked on our song and dance, practicing for an audience and not waving to our parents, but their scene never looked like it would be stage ready. Even during the full show run-throughs, those kitties did not have a clue and I was so worried all my hard work would be for nothing.

As show time rolled around, the kitties were put in costumes, only to increase my fear that something would go horribly awry and a sparkly tail would come unpinned or ears would be left on stage. The dress rehearsals were rough and I was given several unpleasant looks from the director for the kitties’ apparent lack of knowledge as to what they were doing. Still, I continued to review choreography, encourage big smiles and hope for the best. I knew they could do it, I just wasn’t sure they knew they could.

Finally the moment of truth arrived. The stage lights gleamed, the music beckoned, the director sat high up in the booth, the presence of a full house gave off riveting energy and the Cheshire Kittens were all properly lined up side stage. I whispered some final words, the usual “smile big, sing loud, have fun,” and then it was go time, leaving me nothing left to do but sit back with my fingers crossed.

The moment the kitties flounced on stage, it was pure magic. They hit every note, every little step; they never stopped smiling and the audience cheered as if the kitties were the stars of the show.

And it dawned on me that my favorite theatre moment was all of the moments; I loved all the teaching, hoping, thoughts of doom, headaches, heartaches and often off-key singing. All of the “why do I even bother” feelings were washed away when I saw their excitement of being on stage and I realized nobody in the entire world has a more rewarding job than me.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Favorite Theatre moment”

  1. ccandcompany Says:

    Dana, that was awesome. i love you!
    you better get than internship!!


Leave a comment