And so we begin again


Its’s been a while. But I have decided that I feel the need to complain publicly about my problems again, like most of my too-much-personal-information generation.

Unfortunately, not much has changed since we last left off. My life was consumed with RAFA’s 2012 Formal Production of Peter Pan and I managed to get a new nickname (besides Gluestick – its now also Octopus) as well as several other job skills including, but not limited to: music director, tap cleaner, assistant director, prop mistress, ticket sales and Mr. Smee. The production was great, but after dedicating a literal year of my life to Peter Pan, as soon as it was over I couldn’t help but wonder what to do with all this newfound time.

I suppose I could focus on my personal pursuits – but that requires a great deal of decision making, which is not my strong suit. I usually base all my decisions on what is funniest and I usually end up ok, but this time is a little more challenging and none of my options seem particularly hilarious. I was accepted to Texas Tech Law in Lubbock which is really super. Its a good school, they have a great law certificate in BioDefense that I would go for and they are like pennies in comparison to many of the other schools I looked at/applied to. However, like all delicious ice cream sundaes – there is the whip cream (I hate whip cream. Its mega disgusting and serves zero purpose.) Here are some of the negatives:

  • I don’t have a place to live in Lubbock
  • I’ve never been to Lubbock
  • It would not be reasonable for me to take my dogs to Lubbock
  • I do not drive on express ways, so I could not drive myself to or from Lubbock
  • I don’t know how many times my beat-up 2001 Honda civic could make it to Lubbock and back if I could find someone to drive me around
  • There are no direct, non-stop flights from Houston to Lubbock
  • I don’t have a job in Lubbock and law school doesn’t really want you to work your first year because they want you to focus on school (how they expect you to live on no income is something I still haven’t quite figured out)

So, I’m not really sure what I’m going to do about those things. Now, I have applied and put on the waitlist for ¬†University of Houston Law part-time program which would be even better than Tech – if they actually accept me. Because here: I have a place to live, I could still work, I have my dogs, I could take a bus or figure out how to drive myself from Clear Lake into Houston and life would be just dapper.

I honestly am just in a period of denial that I will eventually have to make some kind of choice here, so I focus on other things, like that fact that I get to to New York for 10 days in less than 2 weeks! That is way more fun to think about. I love New York. And I am actually really good at navigating the Subway.

I met Rachel Dratch when I went to NYC in April at her book signing. She is mega cool and she remembered that one time Kevin called and Aaron and I said “Hi, we love you!”

The MOMA is free on Friday afternoons. And its always free if you are a piece of art.

 

I can’t wait to go back!!! I’m chaperoning the BAHBT Scholarship trip and we are going to have a blast. Just think lovely thoughts.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “And so we begin again”

  1. Mom Says:

    This is as close to a religious figure as you will probably get so I want a picture of this one.
    Mom


Leave a Reply

