Archive for May 17, 2010

Choreography part II (Sexy a first time?)

May 17, 2010

Alright, so I neglected to mention this on Saturday because I wanted to wait for some of my friends to post pictures.  

 If you remember, which I do, last October through December I was pretty much dying to do/be/look/wear something/anything that would be considered sexy. After lack of accomplishment and lack of ideas, I kind of gave up.  So then of course, when you stop looking, the opportunity presents itself.

Take a bit of my bad girl meat, show me your...

 King A  choreographed a piece to Lady Gaga’s ‘Teeth,” which is pretty much one of the best songs ever in the world, but I digress. This dance screamed sexy and although I didn’t think I could pull it off, in my opinion, I totally rocked that number.

Teeth

It was a crazy fierce dance, and after watching a video of it, I was just immensely pleased with myself because I didn’t look retarded, or like I was trying to hard and I didn’t forget anything (except for this one minor part) and I was just…. sexy. It was awesome. I am going to have to get myself a recording. I mean I would even pay money for a copy of it, that’s how amazed at myself I was.

Teeth, Teeth, Teeth

So while I may not have brought sexy back, at least I brought it a first time. 

And props to King A for being the King of Sexy and Rebecca Gladu for the awesome photos.

A lot of people laugh at you

May 17, 2010

I don’t mean to toot my own horn or anything, but I consider myself a pretty good dance teacher. I started assisting dance classes in 2006 and have taught on and off since then.  Also, I started teaching dance to some gymnastics girls at the start of this year,who had little previous dance experience, and many of their coaches have commented on their improvement in just these few months. However, when it comes time for me to actually dance, I rarely have a clue what is going on.

 I do not pick up fast, which is an awful trait in the dance world, and I often forget what I’m doing halfway through and rely on my muscle memory to get me the rest of the way through the combo. It is like there is a missing link between my brain telling my body what to do and my body actually doing it, which is why I think I make a good teacher.

Anyway, this trait is the worst in ballet class because my teacher likes to give combos that switch legs and directions and the like, which is when I like to make up my own versions.  Well, last week my ballet master, who I do dearly love (no sarcasm), was getting on to me. He said that I always messed up combinations because I don’t think about what I’m doing. And he makes an extremely valid point.

During a comb I will start thinking about how the people around me are doing, or that I finally had the right arms, or that I should remember this combo to teach to one of my own classes. And while I’m thinking all those things, I totally forget what I’m actually supposed to be doing. I mean the times I do think I’m not half bad, but those times are a rarity.

So that has kind of become my niche in ballet class, cause I have made up some pretty crazy stuff in desperation when attempting to match the actual steps. But last week, while telling me about how I should think about the actual steps all the times and not just on occasion my teacher was trying to find reasons to persuade me, I guess, and he said, “A lot of people laugh at you. I wouldn’t like it if all those people laughed at me.”

So I thought about this, because he makes another valid point, normally people don’t like to be laughed at, but I do. I don’t care if they laugh, in fact I kinda like that they laugh. And I think I like their laughter  because I was not born to be a great dancer, and I’m cool with that, so instead of the “wow” factor, I do what can and get the “funny” out of it.

I just lend myself to be comic relief, not just in dance, but in pretty much all areas of my life, so I think when it comes down to it, there’s a part of me that purposely sabotages my ability to remember the steps in order to get laughs. I know that sounds weird, but after giving this some thought I really think it’s a plausible hypothesis.  Being the butt of a joke  or a ballet combo doesn’t really bother me, and I don’t know if that’s because I have no self-esteem or to much of it, but that’s really up for interpretation.

So, although I am going to try to think more about ballet while in ballet, I make no pinky promises. Because I do me much better than I do ballet.